The Seven Sacraments

The sacraments are seven great gifts that God has given to us. Although we cannot see it, each time a person receives a sacrament, special grace comes through God to that person. These graces help us to reach heaven.

The sacrament of PENANCE


The power to forgive sins is a wonderful gift that God has given to priests. He first gave this gift to the apostles on the evening of the day of His Resurrection. He breathed on them and said, “Receive the Holy Spirit. If you forgive men’s sins; they are forgiven them; if you hold them bound, then they are bound.” It was at this moment that the ability to forgive sins was given to the apostles.

The sacrament of penance shows how merciful and forgiving God is. No matter how bad you have sinned against him, if you are truly sorry, he will forgive you.

There are five very important things to remember to do when you go to confession. They are:

1. Ask yourself how you have offended God.
2. Be truly sorry for your sins.
3. Make up your mind not to sin again.
4. Tell your sins to the priest.
5. Do the penance the priest gives you.

Sorrow for your sins is the most important part of confession. The words the priest uses to forgive a sinner are, “I absolve you from your sins in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost.”